Bill's Vignettes

This is my story. It will consist of little pictures, snippets, or vignettes, from my past. It is a legacy to my children and grandchildren and those that may come after and hopefully will also be of some interest to the casual reader who doesn't know me from Adam.

A New Achievement

Posted by sundoulos2005 on November 28, 2007


About two years ago I met a woman that had brought a nicely decorated cake to a potluck dinner. I commented that I would like to learn how to decorate cakes but did not know where I could obtain such knowledge. She said, “I teach cake decorating.”

The months passed one-by-one (how else?) and, not having time and money at the same time, I put it off. The idea never left me, however, and early this month I enrolled in my first cake decorating class, taught by that same woman. The class met for two hours one night a week for four weeks and ended yesterday. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and having an excellent teacher made it a lot of fun.

The cake pictured above was my “class project,” all in butter cream icing. Yes, I made the roses. I think I made significant progress and, with practice, can become proficient. Next week I start course two, which will get me familiarized with royal icing and more flowers.

Leave a Reply

 
