Bill's Vignettes

This is my story. It will consist of little pictures, snippets, or vignettes, from my past. It is a legacy to my children and grandchildren and those that may come after and hopefully will also be of some interest to the casual reader who doesn't know me from Adam.

Ornament Cake

Posted by sundoulos2005 on December 16, 2007

A little knowledge can be dangerous — or perhaps adventurous. With barely a month of lessons (at one lesson a week) under the belt, I had a crazy idea to make a cake in the shape of a Christmas tree ornament. This would be my gift to a ladies’ party that my wife would be attending. Some hesitancy about how to proceed and a surprise flood threw my timing off and the cake was not finished in time.

I first attempted the cake by cutting a hole in the top of the cake and fitting an inverted cupcake (with the crown removed) into the hole. For some reason, without my touching it, the cupcake crumbled. I then made a second cake, reducing the oil from 1/3 cup to 1 tbs. to make it firmer, and placed the cupcake on the cake, using two toothpicks to stabilize it.

The entire cake, except for the ornament cap, was iced in white buttercream . I later added the stars in white, red, and gold.

Leave a Reply

 
